Wednesday, January 9, 2013

4. scrap224; Jack White- BLUNDERBUSS

This is a Journey into Sound.....
I do not own this album on vinyl, i only have a digital copy. First off I'm not a giant Jack White fanatic. Is he talented, yes. Does he make good music, yes. Odd, strange, perhaps even a bit eccentric, I think so. But this album has forced me to re-evaluate him.
Blunderbuss is the debut solo album by Jack White, released on April 23, 2012 through White's own label Third Man Records in association with XL Recordings and Columbia Records. The album was released in mp3, compact disc, and vinyl editions. The album was written, recorded and produced entirely by White in 2011. The first single from the album, "Love Interruption", was released on January 30 through White's website and Third Man Records website. The album debuted at number one on the Billboard 200 with first-week sales of 138,000 copies. The album received a nomination for Album Of The Year and Best Rock Album at the 55th Grammy Awards and the single "Freedom At 21" was nominated for Best Rock Song .
Blunderbuss has its roots in White's recordings with several artists including Tom Jones. White was in contact with Wu-Tang Clan member RZA and, when RZA couldn't attend the session, White felt bad since there was a band that travelled to Nashville for apparently no reason. White decided to record several tracks that he wrote in the last 6 months of 2011, with the band. The tracks would later develop into songs that appear on the album. This album also marked the first time that Jack wrote all the songs in one session, rather than writing the material separately. Jack White has stated Blunderbuss is a record he could not release until now. He went on to state, "I've put off making records under my own name for a long time but these songs feel like they could only be presented under my name. These songs were written from scratch, had nothing to do with anyone or anything else but my own expression, my own colors on my own canvas." To promote Blunderbuss, White performed "Love Interruption" and "Sixteen Saltines" on the March 3, 2012 episode of Saturday Night Live, with two different backing bands, one all-female and the other all-male. The studio version of "Sixteen Saltines" was subsequently released via White's YouTube channel on March 13. Promotional copies of the album, distributed to reviewers and radio stations, were sent as vinyl records to prevent leaks. The album leaked on April 15, nine days ahead of its official release. On April 16, Third Man Records streamed the album in its entirety on iTunes for free listening, 8 days before its release.
The Japanese edition of the album features two extra tracks - "Machine Gun Silhouette" and a cover of U2's "Love Is Blindness".
Rolling Stone named it the number 3 album of 2012.
The track listing for BLUNDERBUSS is;
1. "Missing Pieces"
2. "Sixteen Saltines"
3. "Freedom at 21"
4. "Love Interruption"
5. "Blunderbuss"
6. "Hypocritical Kiss"
7. "Weep Themselves to Sleep"
8. "I'm Shakin'" 3:00
9. "Trash Tongue Talker"
10. "Hip (Eponymous) Poor Boy"
11. "I Guess I Should Go to Sleep"
12. "On and On and On"
13. "Take Me with You When You Go"
For my money, I love Sixteen Saltines. Best track on the album in my opinion.
This is an excellent alternative rock album. I do recommend this album to anyone who enjoys music in general.

No comments:

Post a Comment